December 30, 2017
Americans Can Now Stay Six Days Visa-Free in Beijing when Transiting

Article By:

Travelers from 53 countries can now spend six days in Beijing, the Tianjin province, and the Hebei province of China without a visa. The visa exemption only applies when transiting through China. For example, if you’re flying San Francisco-Beijing-Sydney, you can spend six days in Beijing without a visa. The new policy is effective immediately.

Beijing Central Business District

Citizens of the 53 countries could previously only stay 72 hours in Beijing without a visa. Some notable beneficiaries include most of the European Union, Canada, the United States, New Zealand, Australia, Japan, and South Korea. If only China would get rid of visa requirements altogether. Do they really need to keep out travelers from these developed countries?

Images Courtesy of Getty Images