March 21, 2017
Official Details on the Electronics Ban Announced Today

Article By:

Last night we reported that a new electronics ban was imminent on many airlines traveling to the US but we had little concrete details at the time. We finally received official confirmation from the Department of Homeland Security this morning.


Based on terrorist threats, the US is imposing new restrictions on flights bound for the US departing from the following 10 airports:


  • Amman (AM)
  • Abu Dhabi (AUH)
  • Cairo (CAI)
  • Casablanca (CMN)
  • Dubai (DXB)
  • Doha (DOH)
  • Istanbul (IST)
  • Jeddah (JED)
  • Kuwait City (KWI)
  • Riyadh (RUH)


All passengers on these flights must check electronic devices larger than cellphones in their luggage. Medical devices will still be allowed on board the flight. Items like laptops, tablets, cameras, and DVD players are all subject to the in-flight ban.


The banned airports include major hubs throughout the Middle East and North Africa. Effected airlines include major carriers like Egyptair, Etihad, Emirates, Qatar, Royal Jordanian, and Turkish Airlines.


This can have a huge impact on international travel. For example, if you’re flying from Asia to the US via a connection in Doha, you’d need to check your electronics on your outbound flight all the way in Asia. There is no timeline for the ban either. It will remain in place until the security threat subsides. Airlines have until Saturday morning to implement the new screenings. What are your thoughts on the ban?


Featured Image Courtesy of Getty Images