July 2, 2017
Residents of Nine States Will Need Passports for Domestic Flights in 2018

Article By:


The Federal Real ID Act of 2005 mandates minimum security standards for IDs used during domestic air travel. It’s taken the government until 2018 to actually implement and enforce the new standard. 41 states have since updated their driver’s licenses to meet the new Federal standards, while nine states have not.


Residents of Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington will not be able to use their driver’s licenses as IDs when flying domestically starting January 22, 2018. They must instead use alternative forms of ID which comply with Real ID, such as passports, military IDs, permanent resident cards etc. Practically speaking, the majority of commercial travelers from these nine states will likely use a passport.

This could change if those nine remaining states apply for an extension and begin the process of implementing Real ID driver’s licenses before the January deadline. If you live in one of those states, it might be a good idea to get a passport now and avoid the headache of being grounded come January if there’s no extension for your state.


H/T: WDW Info